• prensapolo

World Polo League champion maiden Final in Kitzbühel Snow Polo

Finalizó la 18a Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup en Kitzbuehel, Austrlia. Tras tres días de compenticia y eventos sociales de primer nivel, pasó una nueva edición de este prestigioso torneo que se juega en el corazón de los Alpes austriacos. Participaron 8 equipos con 24 jugadores top y 120 caballos disponibles para el juego.

En la gran final, el equipo de WORLD POLO LEAGUE, integrado por el argentino Juan Bautista Peluso y los norteamericanos Marc Ganzi y Nic Roldan superó por 10 a 8 al team 100% brasileño GP MOBILITY que formó con Henrique y Marcus Schalldach y Guilhermo Lins.

Día #3 FINAL 19/1 Kitzbühel Cup (7th/8th Place): Bendura Bank 8 vs Laurent-Perrier 6½

La Martina Trophy (3rd/4th Place): Corum 5 vs Intocast 6

KCC Cup (5th/6th Place): Bernd Gruber 7 vs Engel & Völkers 7

FINAL Bendura Bank Trophy: World Polo League 10 vs GP Mobility 8

Día #2 18/1

1st Semi Finals - KCC Cup - Bendura Bank 6 vs Engel & Völkers 11

2nd Semi Finals - KCC Cup - Bernd Gruber 5 vs Laurent Perrier 3½

1st Semi Finals - Bendura Bank - Trophy Intocast 5½ vs World Polo League 7

2nd Semi Finals - Bendura Bank - Trophy Corum 6 vs GP Mobility 9

Día #1 17/1 Corum 10½ vs. Bernd Gruber 5

GP Mobility 8½ vs. Laurent Perrier 5

Intocast 7½ vs. Bendura Bank 5

World Polo League 8 vs. Engel & Völkers 6½



DAY #3 English version. World Polo League champion maiden Final in Kitzbühel

Kitzbühel, 19th January 2020. With conditions nigh on pristine, a layer of fresh powder perfectly enveloping the field and two teams ready to take their maiden voyage into the Final of The 18th Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup Kitzbühel, the third and final day of this thrilling tournament was always going to be a spectacle.

A snowy Sunday was what greeted the abundance of spectators, taking their positions on the sidelines for the first Final of the day in the heart of Kitzbühel, but as the first ball was thrown-in for The Kitzbühel Cup Final, the sun broke through and a cheer of expectant joy rustled through the crowd.

2018 champions Bendura Bank were first up against rivals Laurent-Perrier, whose team coincidentally sported two of the three members of the 2019 winning Cîroc team, so it was champion versus champion to commence this epic day of polo. With the fresh snow making conditions a little slippery, and with safety as the paramount concern, the riders took the first chukka at a reasonable pace, but with the ponies finding their footing, they turned up the pace as the match went on. Bendura Bank’s Tito Gaudenzi was the first to find the posts, and two more goals off his stick ensured his team were ahead going towards half-time, but a quick fire goal from Laurent-Perrier’s Valentin Novillo Astrada turned the tables at the bell, putting his side half a goal ahead, 3½-3. Laurent-Perrier held the lead up until the final chukka, but a fall from Captain Sebastian Schneberger and subsequent substitution from Intocast’s Captain Matthias Normann, gave Bendura Bank the brief respite they needed to regroup. Alejandro Novillo Astrada, Bendura Bank’s powerful 8 goaler, secured the three goals needed in the final chukka to ensure a win for his team, 8-6½.

The second match of the day for the La Martina Cup was always going to be an even tussle. 2017 champions Corum, with the German number one Patrick Maleitzke leading the charge were all power from the word go, but they found a real challenge in the form of a new team for 2020, Intocast. Making their debuts at The 18th Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup Kitzbühel, Argentine 5 goalers Micky Duggan and Martin Jauregui, ably led by Captain Matthias Normann, meant business, scuppering Corum’s attempts on goal, time and time again. This end to end match upped the already heightened tempo on the Kitzbühel snow, with spectators on the edge of their seats in anticipation of the teams’ next moves. At halftime, Intocast fir